From a BC Teacher

05/03/2012 22:40

Letter to the editor: I am a person. I am a wife, mother, grandparent, neighbour and friend. My family owns and runs a successful construction company. My family owns a local working farm. No one questions taking my money at local businesses. No one questions when the cost to build a new home goes up. No one questions when we have to raise the cost of our hay and beef because the cost of production has risen so dramatically. No one and especially not this government or the media, questions any of those things! I am a teacher. I love my job and I work hard to meet the needs of my students. I wonder then, why does the government and media portray myself and my fellow teachers as greedy and undeserving because we are asking for an increase long overdue? Teachers deserve respect. I state that as a person, mother, grandparent and teacher. Teachers have participated in job action since the start of this school year. We have worked hard to create a caring learning environment for children. We have appreciated the support that we have received and continue to receive from parents. Now job action has escalated. It was not an easy decision. It is not about our salary. It is about education as a whole. Teachers are devastated by the legislation that this government is suggesting. It will strip our rights as professionals and effect children’s learning and education in so many ways, too long to list! Please talk to a teacher, ask questions, form your own opinion based on honest facts. Please STAND UP and voice your concerns to your local school board, local and provincial government! Your voice counts! Thank you, Marla McCann