From Jinny Sims

05/03/2012 22:30

Jinny Sims releases statement on BC teacher work action
2012 03 05 - Press Releases, Statements
SURREY, BC – Local NDP MP Jinny Sims (Newton – North Delta) released the following statement on the BC Teacher work action today:

As a former President of the BC Teacher’s Federation, I want to express my disappointment that our provincial government has chosen confrontation over negotiation with our teachers. As a parent and now a grandparent, I want to see the best possible learning conditions for our children – I know we all do. 

The legislation that our teachers are fighting today will only make classrooms bigger and worse for students. Unfortunately, we have a provincial government that seems more interested in driving wedges between people for political gain than finding solutions to make education in BC better.

I deeply regret that instead of negotiating a fair agreement – which would be profoundly in the interest of students and parents – the provincial government instead decided to impose Bill 22 and drive teachers towards work action this week. Free and fair collective bargaining is a bedrock principle of our democracy which I stand by today as a Member of Parliament just as I did as teacher and President of the BCTF.

As a Member of Parliament, I have had the great pleasure of visiting many schools in the Surrey and North Delta areas. I am always struck by the desire of students to learn and the dedication of their teachers. I hope that this dispute will be resolved soon so that they can all get back to the classroom.