I have to say no

05/03/2012 22:39

 

by Carrilee Drew Too many kids in a classroom. My marking’s 10 feet high. That boy who sits in the back, I can’t identify. Not sure who’s weak, Or who’s strong. “I need help, Mrs. Drew.” “Um, I’m sorry. Remind me. Who, again, are you?” With all of us crammed in here, There’ll be no room to breathe. I hope all the new technology will teach us how to -SQUEEZE- Quiet time and getting help will be things left in the past. And that one fact, alone, sounds like students are put last. Hey, kids, how will you like school when the fun stuff’s been removed? -“Hey, teacher, can we play a game?” -“Only if it’s government approved!” And I’ll find it hard to do what I think is best, when my pay scale is attached to the scores of a standardized test. They say they’re so generous Giving $165 mil. But it’s not for books or paper. Can’t pay the Hydro bill. And, let’s have a reality check, Let’s substantiate our fears. This supposed, whopping monetary gift is to last THREE YEARS. I can’t say or do anything. I can’t express how I feel. ‘Cause with one negative evaluation I’ll be out on my heel. No creativity, No seniority, My mouth’s been duct-taped shut. *mumble, mumble, mumble* [student:] What? And to those who stand there wondering, “Why bother? You’ll never beat ‘em?” Because, my friends, This happens to be about our rights and freedoms. If I can stand up, say, “No!” And make a better world for you - I’m sure it’s clear, I’ve made my point - That’s exactly what I’ll do.